Kiss Bundle with The Less-Refined Mind

I entered a competition just over a month ago on The Less-Refined Mind Blog written by Kate Tunstell. She writes often about subjects that others are too worried to approach giving her opinion and letting others give theirs too. It’s a great place to find information on everything from parenting to marriage and of course there are regular competitions to enter.

I was lucky enough to be the winner of a Kiss bundle worth over £100 and couldn’t wait to get my hands on the products to try them out. The bag the items came in was brimming with false eyelashes of different sizes, thickness and styles and there were packs of high quality false nails too! I was in my element trying them out and wanted to share a few pictures with you. Please excuse the tired eyes (It was 6am before I embarked on my busy day).

The first thing I tried were the false eyelashes. Like so many of us I was not born with naturally long lashes and tend to instead opt for mascara but we all know what happens with that when it rains, you get too hot or get a little itch. Here is a picture of me before applying the lashes so that you can see the difference and one after. OK I know I really need to sort my eyebrows out too but in my defense it was very early in the morning and I applied these with a 5 and 8 year old running around me.

You can see from the pictures how much of a difference they have made. I still applied mascara to my bottom lashes as mine are quite light despite being of mixed parentage and can be difficult to see. I used a black khol pencil on the bottom too and applied my eyeshadow for a slight smokey effect. I’m over the moon with the results and best of all no one could tell they were fake. I had one freind that kept saying that there was something different about my make up but she couldn’t work out what….and I didn’t tell her either.

My nails are naturally quite long but I wanted to try out the fake nails too. I don’t wear varnish often due to the fact my hands are always in water and it’s chipped after about half an hour. The nails were easy enough to apply with the included glue and there was a good variety. I let my younger daughters Lyra-Mai and Lexi-Rai pick for me as there were so many to choose from I was like a kid in a sweet shop. Here are a few of the designs included in the bag.

The blue you can see in the picture is the one my girls chose. As you can see it looks pretty professional and only took me a matter of minutes. Fast beauty with three daughters around and no waiting for them to dry is my kind of nail.

img_6623

Later that day I had a big job on my hands… My teenagers room. If you are the lucky parent of one or more teenagers you know exactly what a task I had ahead of me but I will spare those that don’t the pictures. This meant I had to remove the nails. I managed to keep them on all day through 2 appointments, one school visit and vaccuming the hall stairs and landing so they’re pretty resiliant but the time had come to remove them to face the grime my teen calls her bedroom. They came off pretty quickly and with some nail varnish remover I was able to remove the glue residue with ease.

It might take me a while to get through the numerous products I was lucky enough to win, however I know I will definitley be back for more. I’m definitley going to look glam this Christmas. Just over a month after winning these gorgeous products I got an email 2 days ago to say I had won another prize from The Less-Refined Mind, but you will have to keep an eye out on my blog updates to find out more about that.

To those of you that enter competitions and say that you never or hardly win, keep trying it will happen. It’s not all down to luck it’s also perseverence. Take it from a woman that has had 16 lots of brain, back, spine, knee and stomach surgery to save her life. I used to say that if we didn’t have bad luck we would have no luck at all. Seriously we live at number 13!!! I kid you not. Good luck compers, I hope you get something nice soon. Don’t forget to check out Kate’s blog for up and coming giveaways and of course the great (sometimes controvertial) content.

Leave a Reply

